Low GDP Countries

Please note, in order to be eligible for the reduced Low GDP fee, you must be a current resident of a low GDP country.

The World bank data for 2021, GDP per capita is used to deterimine low-GDP status. A country has low-GDP status when its annual per capita GDP is 70 % or less than the annual per capita GDP of the European Union (for ECER 2023 this means less than $ 27,271.81 US).

Low GDP Countries

Please note that the crucial factor for the reduced Low GDP fee is not the country of origin but the country of residence.

The only countries eligible for the low GDP (Gross Domestic Product) reduction are:

  • African countries
  • Asian countries (with following exceptions: Bahrain, Brunei Darussalam, Hong Kong SAR, Israel, Japan, Republic of Korea, Kuwait, Macau SAR, Qatar, Singapore, UAE)
  • Latin American countries (exception: Bahamas)
  • and the following countries in wider Europe:
    Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Estonia, Georgia, Greece, Hungary, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, Latvia, Lithuania, FYR of Macedonia, Moldova, Montenegro, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia,Turkey and Ukraine.  

Delegates from all other countries need to register as Delegates from high GDP Countries.

Registration System

All registrations are to be done via
Starting 1 April

Fees for the Emerging Researchers' Conference (in-person) are 50 € (35 € for Low GDP Countries). For ERC Plus, the fee is 30 €.
Read more


Check our FAQs.

If you couldn't find the answer please contact the EERA Office.